Software Sets

Sflack Linux follow the original Slackware(R) software sets. Each set contains a different group of programs. This allowed for someone to get the Sflack Linux distribution quickly. For example, if you know you don’t want the X Window System, just skip all of the X software set.

A – The base system. Contains enough software to get up and running and have a text editor and basic communications programs.

AP – Various applications that do not require the X Window System.

D – Program development tools. Compilers, debuggers, interpreters, and man pages. It’s all here.

E – GNU Emacs. Yes, Emacs is so big it requires its own series.

F – FAQs, HOWTOs, and other miscellaneous documentation.

K – The source code for the Linux kernel.

KDE – The K Desktop Environment. An X environment which shares a lot of look-and-feel features with the MacOS and Windows. The Qt widget library is also in this series, as KDE requires it to function.

KDEI – Language support for the K Desktop Environment.

L – System libraries.

N – Networking programs. Daemons, mail programs, telnet, news readers, and so on.

T – teTeX document formatting system.

TCL – The Tool Command Language, Tk, TclX, and TkDesk.

X – The base X Window System.

XAP – X applications that are not part of a major desktop environment. For example Ghostscript and Netscape.

Y – Games (the BSD games collection, Sasteroids, Koules, and Lizards).